• Performance

The show is divided into seven parts. The first part is intended as an introduction, the dancers are not yet active , the sounds are composed of voices becoming more and more abstract and only particles are visually represented. The five next parts represented an evolution of forces between humans and nature’s bad and good forces.

It begins with an atmosphere of discovery, then appropriation of energies which grows into a certain imbalance of forces, the domination of a negative atmosphere and at last an explosion under the pressure of the accumulated forces. The last parts close the loop and make a link with the introduction.

  • Disposition

The scene is circular, the spectators are placed in the centre in rows placed back to back. They are thus visually restricted to an angle of about 180°. Mobile loudspeakers surround the scene. Eight Kinects Cameras and eight beamers are arranged in a circle to cover the entire scene.

The visuals, interactions and sounds change throughout each part. The evolution between each parts and the sound is controlled and created live backstage.

Embodied'Signs Embodied'Signs
  • Technologie

The setting of the scene was a challenge. We imagined different techniques that could connect all the Kinects together but we finally worked with OSC messages sent through a MIDI controller which was setup with a max patch. With this controller, we were able to influence the visuals at the right moment and switch between the parts.

To calibrate the Kinect with the beamer a Library provided by Gene Kogan was used. Because of the libraries, an older version of Processing for the installation was needed.


Dancer: Sophie Annen, Sophie Bertschy, Giorgia D’Amico, Giorgia Lolli

Composer: Luca Magni

Choreographer: Luca Signoretti

Scenographer: Samuel Herger

Interaction Designer: Lilian Lopez, Mélanie Abbet

Audio Software Developer: Dalius Singer